myFutureNC Advisory Board Members Bring Experience to N.C.’s Efforts to Close the Educational Attainment Gap

Media Contact: Cris Charbonneau, Director of Advocacy and Engagement,

Raleigh, N.C. – The statewide nonprofit myFutureNC, which is leading the state’s efforts to close the educational attainment gap, recently welcomed 30 new members to its Advisory Board of Commissioners. The new members represent a cross-section of state-wide local leaders in education, business, government officials, and philanthropy.

“Our new members bring expanded voices and community representation to our ongoing efforts to close the educational attainment gap that is critical to our state’s economic growth,” said Cecilia Holden, myFutureNC’s president & CEO. “Together, we will continue to advocate, identify, and implement innovative ways to meet the state’s attainment goal of 2 million adults between the ages of 24 and 44 with a postsecondary education or high-quality certificate by 2030.”

The new members represent counties and communities from across the state. Below is a list of the new members of myFutureNC’s Advisory Board of Commissioners.

Bladen County
Dr. Amanda Lee, President, Bladen Community College

Buncombe County
Dr. Tony Baldwin, Superintendent, Buncombe County Schools

Burke County
Jeff Toner, President, James Tool Machine & Engineering

Cabarrus County
Barbi Jones, Executive Director, Cabarrus Regional Chamber of Commerce

Caldwell County
Dr. Mark Poarch, President, Caldwell Community College and Technical Institute

Carteret County
Dr. Rob Jackson, Carteret County Public Schools

Chatham County
Dr. Tony Jackson, Superintendent, Chatham County Schools
Karen Howard, Commissioner, Chatham County

Cleveland County
Dr. Jason Hurst, President, Cleveland Community College

Columbus County
Dr. Deanna Meadows, Superintendent, Columbus County Schools

Edgecombe County
Dr. Valerie Bridges, Superintendent, Edgecombe County Public Schools
David Farris, President & CEO, Rocky Mount Area Chamber of Commerce

Forsyth County
Sherry Carpenter, VP of Organizational Development & Mission Advancement, Goodwill Industries of Northwest NC, Inc.

Greene County
Dr. Patrick Miller, Superintendent, Green County Schools

Henderson County
Rebecca McCall, Commissioner, Henderson County
Dr. Laura Leatherwood, President, Blue Ridge Community College

Lenoir County
Dr. Brent Williams, Superintendent, Lenoir County Public Schools

McDowell County
Mark Garrett, Superintendent, McDowell County School District

Mecklenburg County
Mark Jerrell, Commissioner, Mecklenburg County
Dr. Kandi Deitemeyer, President, Central Piedmont Community College

New Hanover County
Natalie Haskins English, President & CEO, Wilmington Chamber of Commerce
Hannah Gage, former member, UNC Board of Governors

Pasquotank County
Jan King Robinson, Board of Trustees Chair, Elizabeth City State University

Pitt County
Dr. Lawrence Rouse, President, Pitt Community College

Surry County
Dr. David Shockley, President, Surry Community College

Swain County
Mark Sale, Superintendent, Swain County Schools

Transylvania County
Dr. Jeff McDaris, Superintendent, Transylvania County Schools

Union County
The Honorable D. Craig Horn, Retired, NCGA

Warren County
Tare Davis, Commissioner, Warren County

Yadkin County
Kevin Austin, VP of Manufacturing, Austin Electrical Enclosures, Past President, NCACC

About myFutureNC
myFutureNC is a statewide nonprofit organization focused on educational attainment, which is led by some of North Carolina’s most influential education, business and civic leaders. The organization was formed with the goal to create a stronger, more competitive North Carolina. myFutureNC is working across sectors and in communities throughout the state to close gaps in the education pathway, to promote alignment between educational programming and business/industry needs and, ultimately, to improve educational opportunities for all North Carolinians.