Dr. David Shockley

President, Surry Community College

Current Memberships and Offices Held in Professional and Civic Organizations

Past President of the NC Association of Community College Presidents; Surry County Economic Development Partnership Board; Yadkin County Investors Council; Surry County Early Childhood Partnership Board; Northern Regional Hospital Board

Work History

President, Surry Community College

Executive Vice President, Caldwell Community College

Vice President, Student Services, Caldwell Community College

Vice President, Technology Services, Caldwell Community College

Awards, Honors, and Recognitions

Caldwell Community College & Technical Institute 2007 Employee of the Year

Yadkin County Chamber of Commerce 2017 Impact Award

Wells Fargo & NC State Board of  NC Community Colleges 2017 President of the Year

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, Shirley B. Gordon 2018 Award of Distinction

Patrick Henry Community College, 2019 Distinguished Alumni Award


Doctor of Education, NC State University – Major; Leadership in Adult and Community College Education;

Master’s Degree of Arts in Industrial Technology; Appalachian State University – Major: Physics Electronics

Bachelor Degree of Science in Industrial Technology, Appalachian State University – Major: Electronics Technology;   Minor: Computer Science – Magna Cum Laude

Attended Patrick Henry Community College